Chapter 21: Scandal of 1920

Chapter 20: Mystery of the Blues ~ Next: Chapter 22: Hollywood Follies

This episode's score by Joel McNeely is represented by 15 tracks (27 minutes) on the Volume 3 soundtrack, including extensive use of period songs by Lewis, Berlin and Gershwin.
01. Rhapsody in Blue / Traveling to New York (2:41)
02. Scandal Walk (1:30)
03. Kate the Poet (4:02)
04. Rehearsal Montage (1:05)
05. Harem Dance, Beachball Dance, Clamshell Ballet and the Tap Dance Finale (1:14)
06. Meeting Peggy / New York Arrival (3:08)
07. Somebody Loves Me (1:15)
08. Sounds Like Perfection to Me (0:58)
09. Gloria's Grand Entrance / The Penthouse Tango / Rhapsody in Blue (2:34)
10. Tum On and Tiss Me (2:25)
11. Backstage at the Scandals (1:06)
12. A Poem for Indy (1:52)
13. Swanee (1:38)
14. The Tap Dance Rehearsal (0:45)
15. She's Wonderful, Too (0:50)

In addition, several of the performances within the episode have little or no sound effects or dialogue and can be extracted from the DVD for additional music:
  • "Ain't Nobody's Business" (0:27)
  • Mary (0:15)
  • "Something About Love We Love" (0:22) - Gershwin
  • "When My Baby Smiles At Me" (0:47) - Lewis
  • "A Pretty Girl Is Like A Melody" (0:38) - Berlin
  • "It Seldom Comes True" (0:32) - Gershwin
  • "The Man I Love" (2:56) - Gershwin

DVD StartDVD EndComposerSourceLengthTitleCatalogNotes
--------McNeelyEuro TV BroadcastsBookend A
--------GershwinOST#30:01:06Rhapsody In Blue / Traveling To New York @ 0:00-1:04Bookend A - North American TV Broadcasts
0:00:270:01:06GershwinDVD has cues from Rhapsody, but different recording
0:01:060:02:48McNeelyOST#30:01:42Rhapsody In Blue / Traveling To New York @ 1:06-2:40
0:02:48McNeely"Sing For Me"
0:04:420:07:53McNeelyOST#30:03:11Meeting Peggy / New York Arrival @ 0:00-3:07
0:07:530:08:18McNeelyThe Party(filler music)
0:08:180:12:20McNeelyOST#30:04:02Kate The Poet
0:14:480:15:42McNeely"Ain't Nobody's Business"(diegetic)
0:16:440:18:13CaesarOST#30:01:29SwaneeGeorge Gershwin/Irving Caesar
0:18:460:19:59McNeely0:01:13Pool at Dinty Moore's
0:20:000:20:24Gershwin0:00:24Something About Love We Love(diegetic)
0:20:300:21:18Munro 0:00:48When My Baby Smiles at MeTed Lewis (diegetic)
0:21:440:22:22Berlin0:00:38A Pretty Girl Is Like A MelodyIrving Berlin (diegetic)
0:22:220:23:32McNeely0:01:10"What Are Friends For?"
0:27:350:29:32McNeely0:01:57"Five Minutes, Then I Go"Rhapsody in Blue redux
0:29:320:32:06McNeely/GershwinOST#30:02:34Gloria's Grand Entrance / Penthouse Tango, The / Rhapsody In Blue
0:36:190:37:01McNeelyOST#30:00:42She's Wonderful, TooGEMA 7240087-001, Sabam 11194522(diegetic)
0:37:010:39:50McNeely0:02:49Picnic with Gloria
0:42:020:42:40McNeelyOST#30:00:38Tap Dance Rehearsal, The
0:44:040:45:38McNeely0:01:34"That Girl, Peggy Peabody"
0:45:590:46:23McNeelyOST#30:00:24Sounds Like Perfection To Me @ 0:00-0:24GEMA 7240090-001, Sabam 11221356Rest is Part 1 Bookend B
------McNeelyOST#30:00:34Sounds Like Perfection To Me @ 0:24-0:58GEMA 7240090-001, Sabam 11221356TV Broadcasts (North America / Euro) Bookend B ("Men!")
--------GershwinOST#3(reuse of Rhapsody in Blue)Euro TV Broadcasts Bookend C (Critic)
--------GershwinOST#3(reuse of Rhapsody in Blue)North American TV Broadcasts Bookend C (Critic)
0:46:230:50:22McNeely0:03:59"I Hope You're Hungry"
0:51:450:53:53McNeely0:02:08"You Got A Real Problem Here"
0:55:100:56:05McNeely0:00:55"So This Is Show Business" (blend of previous themes)
0:56:050:57:54McNeelyOST#30:01:49Poem For Indy, A
0:57:550:58:50McNeely0:00:55"I'm a Good Woman"
0:59:300:59:58Gershwin0:00:28It Seldom Comes TrueFrom "La La Lucile"
1:01:091:02:16McNeelyOST#30:01:07Rehearsal Montage
1:03:091:06:44McNeely0:03:35(blend of several previous themes)
1:08:071:09:37McNeelyOST#30:01:30Somebody Loves Me
1:10:031:12:20McNeely0:02:17"I'm 21 Today"(and various stage management issues)
1:12:481:14:34JacksonOST#30:01:46Scandal WalkFirst few bars missing on OST, redux at the end
1:14:481:17:26JacksonOST#30:02:38Tum On And Tiss Me(only part of the number is used)
1:17:331:18:58McNeelyOST#30:01:25Harem Dance, Beachball Dance, Clamshell Ballet And The Tap Dance FinaleFirst part extended
1:19:161:20:08McNeely0:00:52"The Turntable is Busted"
1:20:361:23:04Gershwin0:02:28The Man I LoveGeorge Gershwin (clean w/ applause)
1:23:04McNeely(blend of several previous themes)
1:24:541:25:58McNeelyOST#3Backstage At The Scandals
1:25:581:28:05McNeelyIn the Powder Room / Happy Birthday
--------McNeelyOST#3(a few bars of Rehersal Montage)TV Broadcasts (North America / Euro) Bookend D ("They Should Quit")
unknownunknownMcNeelyEuro TV BroadcastsEnd Credits TV Euro***missing from my collection
--------McNeelyEuro TV Broadcasts0:00:38End Credits TV Euro
??????McNeelyNorth American TV Broadcasts0:00:40End Credits USA/Canada
??????McNeelyDVD0:01:20End CreditsOST#3 Rehersal Montage